Sam’s September Newsletter

30 Sep

Sam's Dog Rules - September Newsletter

Written by: Marj Mulholland

SAM SAYS:   “Wow, I have just been told that after the school holidays we are going to Mt Roskill Primary Junior School in Auckland.    I love going to schools and showing children how to be safe.   Did you know that ACC figures show that over 30 people a day got bitten by dogs last year – they didn’t need to if they understood us.”

We like being in a pack, we are dogs

We don’t hide under a leaf like frogs

We bowl each other over for a laugh

We don’t have long necks like  giraffe

We feel safe when we’re with our Pack Leader

I sure hope your owner is a reader ……. (show them this!)

“Oh my goodness, I am a Pack Leader….”

Now to be honest, I am not a “DOG” person.  When I was little we were forbidden to talk to, or play with Grandad’s dogs.  They were farm dogs, sheep dogs, working dogs.  They lived out in the kennels beside the barn and only listened to Grandad’s voice.  So to me, dogs lived on farms and were not to be played with or talked to.

Now, for two years I have been helping Annie launch this amazing programme SAM’S DOG RULES and I have sat in many classes and listened to the lesson.  When I see a dog I think what I have learnt:

DON’T TOUCH, DON’T TALK, DON’T LOOK –

Put on my Hero Suit and be the PACK LEADER.

Well, last week I was in Tauranga and I arrived at a house to be bowled over by a very excited fluffy dog (don’t ask me what breed – it looked a bit of a mix up to me).  Very cute, but jumping up and scratching my nice trousers.  It’s owner was very excited and wanted us to admire her gorgeous baby!!!!!  “Excuse me! Is this not a dog?” I thought,” Where is Annie?”

Well, sitting on the couch a while later and endeavouring to have a business discussion with the owner of the “leaping hair ball” it suddenly jumped up on my lap and tried to lick my face.

STATEMENT:

I drew myself up, said in a very firm voice “DOWN NOW, SIT, STAY” !

I should not be amazed, but I was.  In fact, between you and me, I was absolutely elated and thrilled.

RESULT:

Missee Fluff Ball slid off my knee, sat on the carpet at my feet and did not move for the next 20 minutes.  The owner was amazed.   You see, there were no boundaries for that gorgeous little dog, she was desperately saying “please tell me what to do, you should make me safe by being my Pack Leader”.    

You read in a previous post how I tried it with a Pit Bull that was VERY AGGRESSIVE and it worked.  I have done it with my children’s dogs and it works, so why not with little Missie Fluff Ball.

There was no need to shout, no need to back away, I just spoke it firmly and kindly, and WHAMMO success.  Everyone was relaxed and so was the dog.

Tell us your stories, try it, it works, and it is kindness to the dogs.

Marj.

Director Administration.  (Now self appointed Master Pack Leader!!)

SAM’S DOG RULES.

We are taking bookings now for 2013.
We already have five schools booking times.
Each session takes 35-40 minutes per class.
We are still looking for a Sponsor, so in the meantime
a donation from your school would be great.  Thanks.

We are what we think
We feel what we think
What we feel gets created.

Only human beings will follow unstable Pack leaders  –  animals will not.
If you are having trouble with your dogs or children look to yourself first,
understand what energy you are in and choose accordingly.
 

Go the “Packleaders”.   . Write to me at  sam@samsdogrules.com

Leave a Reply

